Current members

The membership of the SMC as of January 2021 is as follows.


Mrs Carol Lyon


Mr Simon Fogiel, Robert Gordon’s College


Dr Alan Walker, University of the West of Scotland

Organiser, SMC Conference

Mr Alistair Oliver, The Gordon Schools, Huntly

Chair, SMC Mathematical Challenge

Mr Bill Richardson, MBE, Elgin

Enterprising Mathematics in Scotland

Mr Chris Smith, Grange Academy

Editor-in-Chief, SMC Journal

Dr Chris Pritchard

Website and Twitter

Dr David Pritchard, University of Strathclyde

Members without office

Ms Shazia Ahmed, University of Glasgow

Dr Julie Baillie, Barnett Waddingham LLP

Dr Jonathan Fraser, University of St Andrews

Ms Tara Harper, University of Dundee

Mrs Karen Hart, Donibristle Primary School

Ms Gillian Johnston, East Ayrshire Council

Ms Sarah Leakey, Numeracy Development Officer, Highland Council

Dr Paul Argyle McDonald, Viewforth High School

Prof. Rachel Norman, University of Stirling

Mr Cameron Orr, Darvel Primary School

Dr Alan Taylor, Jordanhill School

Observer members

Mrs Nanette Brotherwood, Education Scotland

Dr Sue Pope, Scottish Qualifications Authority

The Scottish Mathematical Council © 2014-2021. The SMC is a charitable body, registered in Scotland with number SC046876. Tha Comhairle Matamataig na h-Alba na carthannas, clĂ raichte ann an Alba, Ă€ireamh SC046876. Frontier Theme