About Us

The Scottish Mathematical Council is a charitable body, registered in Scotland. Our aims are to foster and improve mathematical education at all levels, and to encourage the advancement and application of mathematics throughout Scotland. The current Chair of the SMC is Dr Alan Walker, who is supported by the members of the SMC.

The SMC was founded in 1967. Please see this brief account of our history and previous Chairs, and of the erstwhile SMC mathematical project competitions. For information about our other ongoing activities, please see the rest of this site!

Our activities are governed by our Constitution and by our financial procedures policy.

The Scottish Mathematical Council © 2014-2021. The SMC is a charitable body, registered in Scotland with number SC046876. Tha Comhairle Matamataig na h-Alba na carthannas, clĂ raichte ann an Alba, Ă€ireamh SC046876. Frontier Theme