The Scottish Mathematical Council held its first meeting on 25 September 1967. Initially the Council had 15 members of whom 6 were nominated by the Edinburgh Mathematical Society, 6 by the Glasgow Mathematical Association and 3 by the Scottish Branch of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications. The size of the Council has remained essentially unaltered and membership is currently governed by the following extract from the SMC constitution: “The Council shall consist of not more than 16 members, distributed as follows at the time of their election:

  • 4 university teachers of whom at least one shall be a university professor;
  • 6 school teachers or advisers or lecturers from institutions providing initial teacher training, with the proviso that there be at least one member from each category;
  • 3 lecturers from further education or industrial mathematicians, with the proviso that there be at least one member from each category;
  • not more than 3 other members.”


1967-73     Professor R.A. Rankin, University of Glasgow

1973-74     Professor W.D. Collins, University of Strathclyde

1974-80     Professor E.M. Patterson, University of Aberdeen

1980-84     Professor A.G. Mackie, University of Edinburgh

1984-87     Professor J. Hunter, University of Glasgow

1987-93     Professor J.M. Howie, University of St. Andrews

1993-96     Professor D.A.R. Wallace, University of Strathclyde

1996-2001 Professor A.C. McBride, University of Strathclyde

2001-06     Dr I. Anderson, University of Glasgow

2006-09     Professor T.A. Gillespie, University of Edinburgh

2009-11     Eddie Mullan

2011-14     Professor Rob Archbold, University of Aberdeen

2014-         Dr Chris Pritchard, McLaren High School

The Scottish Mathematical Council © 2014-2019. The SMC is a charitable body, registered in Scotland with number SC046876. Tha Comhairle Matamataig na h-Alba na carthannas, clàraichte ann an Alba, Àireamh SC046876. Frontier Theme