Enterprising Maths in Scotland Final 2016

The 2016 Enterprising Maths in Scotland final sponsored by The Institute and Faculty of Actuaries took place on Tuesday, 15th November in the exciting and modern surroundings of the Glasgow Science Centre. 240 Third and Fourth Year pupils in 61 teams from all across Scotland competed throughout the day in four varied and challenging rounds for the prestigious title of EMiS champions 2016.


The day began with the Team Round as contestants were faced with eight tricky problem-solving style questions. Congratulations go to Bearsden Academy for winning the special prize for the Team Round.


Round two was a practical round in which teams raced to build and answer questions on a Platonic solid and an Archimedean solid. Top marks to Bannerman High School for their performance in Round Two.


After lunch teams tackled the Stations Round in which they worked against the clock on six fiendishly difficult challenges which required teamwork, logical thinking and perseverance in order to succeed. Well done to Jedburgh Grammar School who took the special prize following their outstanding performance in this round.


After a break to explore the treasures contained within the Science Centre, teams reconvened for the Relay Round, an action-packed end to the day that saw Linlithgow Academy emerge as round winners.


The scores across all four events were compiled and our congratulations go to Williamwood High School who finished in 3rd place overall.


Congratulations also to Dollar Academy who finished a close 2nd.


This year the EMiS silver salver for 1st place went to the well deserving team from Stewart’s Melville College.


EMiS would like to thank the Science Centre for hosting the event, and give an extra big “thank you” to The Institute and Faculty of Actuaries whose generous sponsorship made the whole event possible.

The full list of participating schools and their ranking can be found here.

EMiS team for 2016:

James Burns, Cumnock Academy

Jane Creevy, St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School

Susan Lynch, Holy Rood R.C. High School

Claire Shiels, Cumnock Academy

Chris Smith, Grange Academy

Lynne Surgenor, Prestwick Academy

James Burns

The Scottish Mathematical Council © 2014-2021. The SMC is a charitable body, registered in Scotland with number SC046876. Tha Comhairle Matamataig na h-Alba na carthannas, clàraichte ann an Alba, Àireamh SC046876. Frontier Theme