Enterprising Mathematics in Scotland Final 2018

The 2018 Enterprising Maths in Scotland final sponsored by The Institute and Faculty of Actuaries took place on Tuesday, 6th November in the exciting and modern surroundings of the Glasgow Science Centre. 272 Third and Fourth Year pupils in 68 teams from all across Scotland competed throughout the day in four varied and challenging rounds for the prestigious title of EMiS champions 2018.

The day began with the Team Round as contestants were faced with twelve tricky problem-solving style questions themed around Bonfire Night. Congratulations go to Bell Baxter High School for winning the special prize for the Team Round.

Round Two was a practical round in which teams raced to build and answer questions on an Archimedean solid. Top marks to Beeslack High School for their performance in Round Two.

After lunch teams tackled the Stations Round, in which they worked against the clock on six fiendishly difficult challenges which required teamwork, logical thinking and perseverance in order to succeed. Well done to George Heriot’s School who took the special prize following their outstanding performance in this round.

Pupils were then given some time to explore the treasures of the Science Centre during a well earned break.After a break, teams reconvened for the Relay Round, an action-packed end to the day which was witnessed by Deputy First Minister and Education Secretary John Swinney and saw Perth High School emerge as round winners.

The scores across all four events were compiled and our congratulations go to Inveralmond Community High School who finished in third place overall.Congratulations also to Hutchesons’ Grammar School who finished a close second.

This year the EMiS silver salver for first place went to the well deserving team from James Gillespie’s High School.


EMiS would like to thank the Glasgow Science Centre for hosting the event, Deputy First Minister and Education Secretary, John Swinney, for taking time out of his busy schedule to address teachers and young people at the end of the day and an extra big ‘thank you’ to The Institute and Faculty of Actuaries whose generous sponsorship made the whole event possible.

EMiS team for 2018:

James Burns, Cumnock Academy
Jane Creevy, Douglas Academy
Susan Lynch, Holy Rood R.C. High School
Siobhan Martin, St Thomas Aquinas R.C Secondary School
Chris Smith, Grange Academy
Laura Ross, The Scottish Government
Peter Todd, Arbroath High School

James Burns

The Scottish Mathematical Council © 2014-2021. The SMC is a charitable body, registered in Scotland with number SC046876. Tha Comhairle Matamataig na h-Alba na carthannas, clàraichte ann an Alba, Àireamh SC046876. Frontier Theme